Kale and Quinoa Salad

Image

Last weekend, when I was in NYC, I needed a quick bite to eat. I saw this place and it looked perfect: light and portable. I gathered from the name of the place that kale played a big role in the food. I didn’t grasp that everything had kale in it including the quinoa that I ordered as a base to my meal. It was quinoa, raw kale, peas, carrots, and corn all mixed together and served room temperature.

Initially, I wasn’t thrilled since raw kale doesn’t really do it for me. However, I actually really enjoyed it. I thought it could use a couple tweaks and so, when kale showed up in this week’s bag, I decided to make those tweaks. I’m really pleased with the outcome. I tried the salad hot, room temperature, and cold. I liked it all ways, but I think room temperature/slightly warmed was the best.

You could really add anything to this salad that you like. The quinoa is a nice blank canvas for that. I think it would also be good with some tomatoes and cucumbers for crunch. On the other hand, some snap peas would also be tasty. I can see this salad cropping up often in various forms.

The recipe:

Image

 

2 TB olive oil

1 clove garlic, minced

1/2 bunch of smooth kale

2 cups quinoa, cooked

3 spring onions

1 cup corn kernels, cooked

3 oz feta cheese

2 TB lemon juice

salt

TKT: 30 minutes

1. Heat the olive oil and garlic in a sauce pan. When the garlic is fragrant, add the kale. Sauté until kale is wilted and dark green (approximately 8 minutes).

2. Cook quinoa according to package.

3. While kale and quinoa are cooking, chop spring onions into small slices. Add to large bowl.

4. Cook the corn kernels. (I used frozen and put them in a bowl of water in the microwave for 2 minutes.) Drain and add to bowl with spring onions.

5. Crumble feta and add to bowl.

6. When kale and quinoa are cooked, add to bowl. Add lemon juice and salt and toss together. Serve immediately or let cool before serving.

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

