Risotto Cakes

I’m not a big leftovers fan. I really don’t enjoy eating the same thing over and over and over again. Since my husband doesn’t eat vegetables, this means that I have to be creative about my excess food. G eats like an adult even though he’s only 2, so that helps a lot, but there is still always food leftover from cooking.

For lunch today, I made risotto cakes with the Spring Green Risotto from yesterday. Risotto cakes are easy: heat 2 TBS of olive oil in a pan, form your risotto into patties (like burgers) and cook them for about 5 minutes on each side on medium heat. They get brown and crispy on the outside and warm and gooey on the inside. Yum.

20140405-141508.jpg

I had a green salad with my risotto cakes. While this is fairly unremarkable in itself, I wanted to mention it because I used 5 week old lettuce in my salad. Yes, you read that correctly. Five week old lettuce.

This wasn’t just any five week old lettuce though. It was living lettuce. In our CSA back in the beginning of March, we got a container of living lettuce – lettuce still connected to its roots. Five weeks later, it was still beautiful and crisp. I’m a total convert.

20140405-141411.jpg

2 responses to “Risotto Cakes

  1. Hello there!
    Considering the spirit of your blog I thought you might be able to support an important project about sharing food-growing skills with the wider local community in Southeast England.
    We would appreciate re-posting of our crowdfunder if possible!!
    http://www.crowdfunder.co.uk/grow-a-grower

    Many thanks!
    Julio Molina
    Volunteer at Farnham Local Food
    Farnhamfood.com

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

