This Week’s Bag – 7/27/13

So here’s an interesting problem I’ve run into – my grocery store is completely out of fresh mozzarella for the second week in a row! I snagged the last fresh mozzarella last Sunday and when I checked today…only the square, prepackaged stuff was left. I asked and apparently there is a run on fresh mozz. They can’t keep it on the shelf. Judging by the amount of tomatoes we have at our house, I can understand why. At this point, I’m considering making my own mozz just so that my tomatoes and basil aren’t so lonely!

This week, we got green tomatoes, just to spice things up a bit. One of the recipes recommended frying them, which made me think of the movie “Fried Green Tomatoes.” To this day, that is the only movie I have every walked out of. I was 8 and one of the scenes scared the heck out of me.

We also got some donut peaches, which are fantastic. They are firm, yet perfectly ripe and moist, yet not so juicy you need a shower after eating one. We also got some tomatillos, which we (and by “we,” I mean my mom who is visiting) are going to make into tomatillo guac.

Ideas about what to do with the red hull peas are welcome. They’re a new one for me.

Onwards to the bag…

Image

Red hull peas

Donut peaches

Green tomatoes

Tomatillos

One response to “This Week’s Bag – 7/27/13

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

