This Week’s Bag – 7/20/13

One of the key lessons I’ve learned about having a CSA is that when something is in season, you should expect to get A LOT of it. For example, corn. Apparently corn is in season. For the third week in a row, our bag consisted of six ears of corn. I’ve boiled the corn to eat with butter. I’ve made pasta with italian sausage and corn. I’ve made a fritatta with mushrooms and corn. I’m considering making corn soufflĂ©. Don’t get me wrong, I love corn, but having now had 18 ears of it in the house over the past three weeks, I’m starting to have to get super creative.

An interesting addition to this week’s bag was the canary melon. I’d never heard of a canary melon. I’ll admit, however, that my melon knowledge consists of honeydew, cantaloupe, and watermelon. Anyway, G and I tried the canary melon last night. It’s like a green and slightly less sweet cantaloupe. It was very tasty.

On to the bag…

Image

Corn

Canary Melon

Grape tomatoes

Cucumbers

Onions

Blueberries

Couscous

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

