Quick Pickles

IMG_2198

In looking for a pickling recipe, I was amazed to see how time intensive they all were. I am a pickling newbie, as you may have guessed. I really didn’t want to have to deal with canning and all that accompanies that, so I looked for a recipe for quick pickles. I found this one.

The claim to producing 1-hour pickles is technically correct, though after 2 hours, they definitely still tasted like cucumbers that were becoming pickles. A few days later, however, They are delicious. They are crunchy and tangy and just what pickles should be.

The only pickling spices I could find without ordering online from some speciality pickling store were McCormick Pickling Spice. It’s heavy on the cloves, which I think tastes a little strange as the overpowering flavor on my pickle. It’s fine, but wouldn’t be my first choice. If making these again, I’d probably use a different pickling spice. I will, however, likely be making these again.

The recipe:

IMG_2195

1/2 cup cider vinegar

1 cup rice wine vinegar

3/4 cup water, plus more, if needed

3 teaspoons each: kosher salt, pickling spice

6 pickling cucumbers, cut into 1/4-inch slices

TKT: 10 minutes

Yield: 8 servings

Combine vinegars with 1/2-cup of water, salt and pickling spice in a small saucepan. Heat to a boil.

IMG_2196

Cut cucumbers into 1/4 inch slices.

IMG_2197

Place cucumber in a clean, dry glass container just large enough to hold all the slices. Pour boiling brine over cucumber slices to cover completely. If all cucumbers are not submerged, add cold water to cover. Cover; refrigerate at least overnight. Pickles will keep for about 10 days.

IMG_2198

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

