Slow Cooker Chicken Puttanesca

Image

This is one of those recipes where I’m not sure it actually counts as “cooking.” You literally drop everything into the slow cooker, turn it on, and then eat it when it’s ready. My kind of weeknight meal, especially since I’m finding it hard to have a hot meal while dealing with schedules and timing. I’d like G to grow up knowing that sometimes dinner can arrive to the table freshly made as opposed to reheated from leftovers. I’ve been using the slow cooker more lately since this accomplishes that goal (providing I remember to turn the thing on in the morning). I found a blog that is only slow cooker recipes and they don’t all involve cream of chicken soup! This one for chicken puttanesca was on there and looked yummy.

I used the grape tomatoes from two weeks ago in this. I also used olives from the olive bar at the grocery store instead of canned ones. I think this made the dish saltier than the canned ones would have, so I’ve noted to use fewer olives than the original recipe says. Other than that, this was a winner.

The recipe:

Image

6 boneless, skinless chicken thighs
1 pint cherry tomatoes, halved
5 garlic cloves, peeled and chopped
1 tablespoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon chili powder
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
1/2 cup pitted olives (kalamata or green Spanish)
Yield: 5-6 servings
TKT: 5 hours 5 minutes
Place the chicken in the bottom of the slow cooker. Place all other ingredients on top of the chicken. Cover and cook on low for 5 hours. Serve hot over pasta, rice, or another grain.
2 responses to “Slow Cooker Chicken Puttanesca

  1. This looks like my kind of recipe! Drop everything in the slow cooker and it comes out looking like that?? Can’t wait to try it! Thanks so much for sharing.

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

