This Week’s Bag – 5/4/13

I have to admit that I struggle with lettuce. I might be one of the few who prefer iceberg lettuce. I love butter lettuce. I like my lettuce very crunchy. Flavor is not important. The spring greens this week look nice so I’ll try to work my way through them. Any ideas about lettuce consumption that isn’t in a salad are appreciate.

In the bag:

20130506-132145.jpg

Asparagus
Spring green lettuce
Red pears
Tomatoes
Green beans

7 responses to “This Week’s Bag – 5/4/13

  1. Those aspargus and pears look great! I am a lettuce lover so hard to say what to do with the spring greens but I would definitely eat them quickly as they wilt much faster than romaine or iceberg. Maybe you could make a pesto like sauce?

    • Pesto is a good idea. I made a swiss chard pesto in the fall that was really good. I hadn’t realized that lettuces wilted at different rates. Interesting!

      • I find the darker leaves in the spring mix go faster than the green ones too. No idea why but seems to be true across the board wheter they are store bought, from the csa or home grown

  2. I found this recipe from the NY Times recently when I was looking for cold soups. I haven’t tried it but it looks good and it uses lettuce! Chilled Pea, Lettuce and Herb Soup

    This elegant soup is sweet and heavenly. The texture is silky and the consistency thick — but only because there are lots of peas in it. I used water rather than stock when I tested this recipe, and it worked just fine.

    3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

    2 leeks, white and light green part only, cleaned and sliced

    Salt to taste

    5 cups frozen or fresh peas (1 1/2 pounds, or 2 12-ounce bags frozen)

    3 cups, tightly packed, coarsely chopped Boston or bibb lettuce

    5 cups chicken stock, vegetable stock or water

    1/3 cup coarsely chopped fresh tarragon leaves

    1/4 cup coarsely chopped flat-leaf parsley leaves

    1/4 cup coarsely chopped fresh mint leaves

    1/4 cup chopped chives, plus additional for garnish

    Chopped fresh tarragon, chives and/or mint for garnish

    1. Heat 1 tablespoon of the oil over medium heat in a large, heavy soup pot or Dutch oven. Add the leeks and a pinch of salt. Cook, stirring, until tender, about five minutes. Add the peas, lettuce and stock or water, and bring to a boil. Add salt to taste, reduce the heat, cover and simmer five minutes. Remove from the heat. Drain through a strainer set over a bowl, and allow the vegetables and the broth to cool for 15 minutes. Taste the broth, and season as desired.

    2. Working in batches, purée the vegetables and herbs in a blender with the broth and additional olive oil for two minutes until frothy and smooth. Pour into a bowl, and stir to combine. Taste and adjust seasonings. Chill for several hours.

    3. Serve, garnishing with additional chives, tarragon and/or mint.

    Yield: Six regular servings or 12 aperitifs.

    Advance preparation: You can make this dish a day ahead.

    Nutritional information per serving (six servings): 183 calories; 1 gram saturated fat; 1 gram polyunsaturated fat; 5 grams monounsaturated fat; 0 milligrams cholesterol; 22 grams carbohydrates; 6 grams dietary fiber; 155 milligrams sodium (does not include salt to taste); 9 grams protein

    Martha Rose Shulman is the author of “The Very Best of Recipes for Health.”

    • What an interesting combination of ingredients! I would never have thought to put them together. It sounds really good though. I think I’ll give that a try. Thanks!

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

