Carrot Apple Muffins

IMG_1972

A lot of magazines now have really good recipes in them. We get Parenting Magazine and every month, I find myself tearing out at least two recipes. This is one from the April 2013 issue. There was a section on carrots and what to do with them. I had some that needed to be used and I always love an excuse to make muffins so the Carrot Apple Coconut Muffin recipe caught my eye.

I dislike dried coconut (but love the fresh stuff) so left it out. In it’s place, I used some minced ginger. I thought it made a nice substitute. The batter was really wet after I mixed all the ingredients, so I was a little concerned, but the muffins are super moist so it was ok. The original recipe suggested making mini muffins (for mini mouths) but I made regular sized ones this time. The recipe produced 12 regular muffins and claims to produce 30 mini muffins.

The recipe:

IMG_1965

1 1/2 c flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 peeled, grated carrots (1 cup)

1 large or 2 small peeled, grated apple (1/2 cup)

1/2 tsp peeled, minced ginger

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/3 c milk

1/4 c vegetable oil

1/2 c honey

Yield: 12 muffins

TKT: 40 minutes

Preheat oven to 350

Grate carrots and apples

IMG_1967

IMG_1968

Combine eggs, vanilla, milk, vegetable oil, and honey in a mixer. Blend together.

IMG_1966

Add carrots, apple, and ginger.

IMG_1969

Slowly add dry ingredients while mixer is on.

IMG_1970

Place batter into muffin tins.

IMG_1971

Bake 20-25 minutes or until knife comes out clean

For mini muffins bake 15 minutes. Makes 30 mini muffins.

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

