Celery Root and Apple Mash

Image

I wasn’t sure what celery root tasted like or what to do with it, so I googled some recipes. I found this one on Martha Stewart and it sounded good. Everything I read said that celery root (also known as celeriac) had a “mild celery flavor.” It tastes like celery, I’ll give you that.

One of the lessons I’m learning during this CSA experiment is that when you don’t really like a flavor, there is no “mild” version of it. I’m not big on celery. I actually did’t even realize that until I made this recipe. I thought I didn’t have an opinion about celery but, as it turns out, I don’t like it much. Ah well. Lesson learned.

Overall, this was a good recipe (if you like celery). It was easy to make, the mash was a nice consistency, and it contained blue cheese. I found that I liked it a lot better the next day after the flavor had married a little bit more.

The recipe:

Image

2 cups chicken stock
1 cup water
1 celery root, peeled and cut into 1-inch pieces
1 large, white potato, peeled and cut into 1-inch pieces
1 Granny Smith apple, peeled, cored, and cut into 1-inch pieces
1/4 onion, coarsely chopped
Coarse salt
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature
3 ounce blue cheese (about 5 tablespoons), plus more for crumbling

Image

Bring stock, water, celery root, potatoes, apple, shallot, bay leaf, and 1 teaspoon salt to a boil in a large pot. Cook until tender, about 10 minutes.

Image

Strain, reserving liquid. Return celery root, potatoes, apple, and onion to pot. Coarsely mash with a potato masher. Add reserved liquid as needed.

Image

Using a fork, mash together butter and blue cheese in a small bowl. Stir into celery root mixture. Season with salt.

Image

Serve hot with blue cheese crumbled on top.

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

