Update on Vegetables Past

Here is a quick update on veggies past:

Image

Broccoli – I made a broccoli cheese quiche with this. I used three kinds of cheese – gruyere, a goat’s milk mozzarella, and Pecorino Romano. The cheeses blended nicely together and the quiche came out well. I used a pre-made pie crust (freezer section) because, quite frankly, it’s just too much work for me to think of making my own crust.

Image

Mushrooms, Spinach, and Curly Kale – I made risotto with these. I love risotto and make it basically every other week. This is my “oh wow, I need to use that veggie up” dish. I use homemade chicken stock, white wine, and parmesan cheese in my risotto. Yum.

Oranges – I juiced the oranges. All 4 oranges produced about 8 oz of juice. I was a little surprised, but there you are. They were small, I guess.

Grapefruits – These were so ripe and wonderful, I really enjoyed just slicing into these and eating them for breakfast.

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

