This Week’s Bag – 2/16/13

The bag this week is another one full of excellent staples to have in the kitchen. I haven’t had apples in a couple weeks and was actually starting to miss them after the hiatus.  We also have a slow introduction back into the dark, leafy greens with some curly kale this week. Also in this week’s bag were some lovely, ripe cherry tomatoes. It’s so hard to get good tomatoes at this time of year, so this is a really nice treat.

The bag this week also included green peppers. As I mentioned last time green peppers were in the bag, I don’t like peppers. I left my two peppers in the bins at the farmer’s market and hope that whoever ended up with them is enjoying them.

In the bag:

IMG_1840

Broccoli Crowns

Cherry Tomatoes

Curly Kale

Virginia York Apples

 

I’ve already eaten one of the apples but am thinking of making some sort of apple dish with the rest of them (instead of applesauce, like usual). Some of the kale was tossed into a fritatta that a friend of mine who was visiting this weekend made. It was delicious. I didn’t get her recipe, but will.

I also used some of the broccoli in my lunch today. I made Lemon Polenta with Broccoli and Asparagus. I sautéed the polenta with some olive oil and roasted the broccoli and asparagus in the oven in olive oil and salt. I combined them on a plate when everything was cooked and topped with parmesan and fresh lemon juice. Yum.

IMG_1847

One response to “This Week’s Bag – 2/16/13

  1. If you were to ask me what foods I really appreciate straight out of the dirt, I’d tell you broccoli. The taste difference is really remarkable.

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

