All Hail the Avocado

Image

People rave about avocados. They tell you how incredibly healthy they are. They tell you how amazing they are for your skin and hair. They tell you how they are the perfect example of a “good fat.” I was at a dinner party once where someone delivered a soliloquy on the benefits of the avocado. It culminated in the statement, “a person could live off avocados alone – they are that good for you!”

I am a card-carrying, bumper-sticker displaying member of the school of “everything in moderation” so I took this statement with a grain of salt. That and I’ve honestly always found avocados a bit rich. I can eat half of one in a salad but then I’ve had my fill for awhile. They’re good and all, but I wouldn’t want to live solely off of avocados, or anything, really. (Well, unless we were talking about cheese. That would be totally different. I could eat only cheese and be happy.)

With seven avocados in the house that all ripened at the same time, my approach of moderation went out the window. We’ve been eating a lot of guac. There really is only so much guac I can eat without feeling like I’ll turn into a tortilla chip, so I snagged a few the avocados and made avocado soup. This is a recipe I found in a Mark Bittman cookbook a couple years ago and loved. The kefir and milk cut down on the richness of the avocado so this soup is filling and tasty, but doesn’t feel like you’re straight-up drinking an avocado.

I definitely recommend eating is promptly after it’s cooled (which is a requirement). This is not so much because anything happens to the taste but more because, like with guac, the avocado starts to brown. After 12-24 hours, you find yourself eating brown rather than green soup. Tastes good. Looks bad. It’s just a suggestion though, so do with it as you will.

The recipe:

Image

2 ripe avocados, pitted, peeled, and chopped (about 1 cups)

1 cups milk

1/2 cup kefir

Salt and cayenne or paprika, to taste

Juice of 1 lime

TKT: 6 hours 5 minutes

Yield: 2 servings

Put the chopped avocado in a blender or bowl to use with an immersion blender.

Add kefir and half the milk, a large pinch of salt, and a small pinch of cayenne and process to a purée.

Beat in the remaining milk, then chill for up to 6 hours.

Add lime juice just before serving.

Suggested additions, substitutions, variations:

  • You can use lemon or orange juice (I’m told) as well.
  • You could use all milk or all kefir, but I find that blending the two gives the soup a nice consistency.
  • I think this would be good with a dollop of goat cheese added just before serving.
One response to “All Hail the Avocado

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

