Swiss Chard Pesto

Image

I’ll admit it – I’m hitting a dark, leafy green rut. I have truly developed an appreciation for kale, chard, bok choy, and other varietals, but trying to figure out how to use them in most meals does get overwhelming at times.

Enter in dipping sauces. Now that G is eating finger foods for the most part, I’m trying to find ways to get the vegetables that I used to blend into stews into his tummy. Needless to say that when I put a piece of kale on his tray, it tends to stay there (or take a flying leap onto the floor). The other day, I picked up some pesto at the store and put a dollop on his dinner. He wolfed it down. Bingo!

I love pesto. Apparently, G loves pesto. These thoughts came together while I was looking desperately at the swiss chard in the fridge. I bet I could make swiss chard into pesto, I said to myself. That put me on the hunt for a swiss chard pesto recipe. And, behold, I found one!

I left out the nuts (we’re still slowly introducing nuts to G) and had to add a bit more olive oil than the original recipe called for because the chard was tougher than the spinach called for in the original recipe. That being said, this was quick and easy to make and tasted fantastic. I indulged immediately in a mozzarella and tomato sandwich with swiss chard pesto and spent the next half hour or so patting myself on the back.

The recipe:

Image

1 1/2 oz Parmesan cheese, cut into cubes

4 cloves garlic, peeled and quartered

3/4 teaspoon kosher salt

1 1/2 cups Swiss chard, packed (about 1 bunch of Swiss chard)

3/4 cup fresh basil leaves, packed

1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil

TKT: 15 minutes

Yield: Approx. 1 cup

Chop the parmesan cheese, garlic, and salt in a food processor.

ImageImage

Add the chard and basil leaves and pulse until combined.

Image

Slowly drizzle in olive oil while food processor is on. Pulse until combined.

Image

Suggestions, additions, substitutions

– Any dark, leafy green would be good here.

– Walnuts would have tasted nice, as would have almonds or pine nuts.

3 responses to “Swiss Chard Pesto

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

