Kimchi

IMG_1770I started my kimchi yesterday. I’m excited. I’ve never made it but like it. Though, I often find that it is too spicy for my taste. I have a very low spice tolerance so was happy to have the chance to adjust for my taste.

Aside from being time consuming, this was a pretty easy recipe. The ingredients are currently in the required “cool place,” a.k.a. on the counter, fermenting (yum) so I’ll post an update in a couple days about how the dish turned out.

The recipe:

IMG_1755

1 medium Tokyo Bekana

1/4 c salt

1 medium watermelon radish, sliced

1 tsp chili pepper

1 tsp sugar

1 clove garlic, minced

1 tsp ginger, minced

2 green onions, sliced

TKT: 4 days

Yield: 6 servings

Wash the Tokyo Bekana thoroughly and chop into chunks.

IMG_1756

Place in a large, glass container and toss with salt. Set aside for 2-3 hours until the cabbage becomes soft.

IMG_1757

While cabbage is pickling, mince, chop, and slice other ingredients. Set aside to combine with cabbage.

IMG_1758

IMG_1759

IMG_1760

IMG_1761

IMG_1762

IMG_1763

IMG_1764

IMG_1765

IMG_1766

Drain the cabbage and rinse off the salt. Place back in container and add other ingredients.

IMG_1767

IMG_1768

Let sit in a cool place for 3-4 days or until it tastes a little sour (ferments). When it is ready to eat, store in the refrigerator (which will stop the fermentation).

I’ll post an update in a couple days once I’ve tasted the recipe. Fingers crossed!

 

UPDATE: The kimchi came out well. I found it a bit on the salty side – maybe I hadn’t rinsed all the salt off? G loved it! I’m impressed at how easy this was and the kimchi is good on sandwiches or as a side.

One response to “Kimchi

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

