Scalloped Sweet Potatoes and Broccoli Rabe

Image

I started to make my kimchi the other day only to realize that I was missing half the ingredients. I still wanted to use some of my new greens, so I poked through the suggested recipes from the CSA and found one for scalloped potatoes and greens.

I didn’t have any white potatoes, so used a sweet potato instead. The recipe said that I could use any green so I thought that I’d give the broccoli rabe a try. I didn’t use quite enough in my recipe, so I’ve adjusted for that in the measurements below.

All in all, this was a simple recipe. Sauté the onions, make a roux, toss in the potatoes and bake. It was a cozy side dish for a chilly evening.

The recipe:

Image

1 sweet potato

1/4 bunch broccoli

1/2 TB butter

1 leek

2 tsp flour

1/2 c milk

nutmeg (to taste)

Salt and pepper (to taste)

Yield: 4 servings

TKT: 1hr 15mins

Heat oven to 350degrees and lightly grease a 5×7 baking dish.

Slice sweet potato thinly and place in mixing bow.

Image

Wash and dice leek.

Image

Melt butter in saucepan and add leak. Sauté for about 1 minute or until fragrant. Add flour.

Image

Add milk and stir until thick (2-3 minutes). Watch closely and stir constantly to avoid burning.

Image

Add salt, pepper, and nutmeg and stir in greens.

Image

Image

Pour greens mixture over potatoes and toss until all the potato slices are coated.

Image

Bake for 45 minutes, covered with foil. Uncover and bake for an additional 15 minutes or until potatoes are tender.

Suggested additions, substitutions, variations

  • You can use any green here, according to the recipe. This would be good with kale or spinach, or chard.
  • If I’d used white potatoes in this dish, I probably would have grated some extra sharp cheddar cheese over the top.
Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

