Salad with Mizuna and Joe’s Dressing

I have to admit that I haven’t done a whole lot with this week’s bag, yet. I know, I know, it’s Friday, but there you go. I have eaten one of the oranges, which was yummy, and made a salad with the mizuna. That was super tasty.

So, mizuna is an asian mustard green. As I learned from the mustard green experiment a couple weeks ago, greens in the mustard family taste like mustard. Shocking, I know. Mizuna had that same dijon flavor, but was no where near as potent as the mustard greens. It was very delicate and added a lovely bite to the green salad I made.

I dressed the salad with Joe’s (my dad) salad dressing, which is refreshing and incredibly easy to make.

The recipe:

Image

Salad greens (I used sweet butter lettuce)

Mizuna

2 TB olive oil

2 TB lemon juice

hot sauce (to taste)

salt

Whisk olive oil, lemon juice, and hot sauce together.

Put greens in salad bowl and top with a dash of kosher salt. Pour dressing, toss, and serve.

2 responses to “Salad with Mizuna and Joe’s Dressing

  1. Pingback: This Week’s Bag – 2/8/13 | The CSA Experiment·

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

