Update In Between CSA Seasons

Just a quick little update in between CSA seasons. I’ve made a couple of recipes over the past couple weeks that I thought were worth sharing. My winter CSA begins on January 18th, so I’ll hopefully be experimenting with lots of new recipes then. In the meantime…

New Year’s Eve Dinner

Nothing says delicious like Barefoot Contessa recipes. For our New Year’s Eve dinner, I made her Parmesan and Thyme Crackers and Truffled Fillet of Beef Sandwiches. They were both divine. The crackers are super simple, moist and cheesy without being overwhelming. The sandwiches are roast beef sandwiches on luxury steroids. The beef is tender, the baguettes crispy, the arugula spicy and the butter creamy. I couldn’t find truffle butter so I just used herb garlic butter. These would be good with blue cheese as well. We topped off the meal with some yummy champagne (and the company of one of our furry friends – Nemo. Lucy, our other hound, went to be early.)

IMG_1543

Broccoli leftovers

I’ve had some broccoli hanging out in the fridge for a little while now and decided I should use it before it got lost. I’d been wanting to try this recipe for Broccoli Cream Pesto from Smitten Kitchen and decided this was the perfect opportunity. The recipe was really easy to make and tastes delicious. I used angel hair pasta instead of spaghetti (personal preference) but I think this would work with any pasta (or grain). This recipe calls for heavy cream. I could only find whipping cream so I used that and whipped the rest up to have in my morning coffee (yum!).

Pork, pork, and more pork

I made the following recipe for pork from one of my fav cookbooks, Cooking 1-2-3 by Rozanne Gold. Every recipe only has 3 ingredients (not including salt and pepper). The original recipe calls for cooking the pork in the oven but I decided to use the slow cooker instead and it turned out great.

Barbequed Pork Pull

6lb pork shoulder or rump, bone in

1 1/2 c cider vinegar

1 c ketchup

2 c water

salt & pepper (to taste)

Yield: 8 servings

TKT: 7 hours 5 minutes

  1. Place pork into slow cooker.
  2. Mix vinegar, ketchup, water, salt, and pepper in a small saucepan. Bring to a boil.
  3. Pour vinegar mixture over pork.
  4. Cook on low for 7 hours.
  5. Serve hot.

We had a lot (like A LOT) of pork left so I made a hash with some of the leftovers. Here is the hash recipe:

3 potatoes (I used 1 white and 2 white sweet potatoes)

1/2 red onion

leftover pork (to taste)

salt

pepper

olive oil

2 TB butter

Yield: 3 servings

TKT: 1 hr 15 mins

  1. Peel the potatoes and chop into chunks. Chop the onion into chunks as well.
  2. Roast at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until the potatoes are tender.
  3. Put potatoes, onion and pork (as much as you like in your hash) into a food processor and pulse until you have small chunks (1/2-1 inch cubes). Note: You won’t have even chunks – some will be big and some very small- but just get the majority into smallish chunks.
  4. Melt 2 TB butter in a skillet over medium-high heat. When melted, add the potato mixture and smooth out so that it evenly covers the pan.
  5. Let the mixture brown on the bottom (5-6 minutes). Flip the mixture over in segments. Continue cooking and browning until the mixture is crispy.
  6. Serve hot.

Those have been the culinary highlights here for the past couple weeks. I’m looking forward to the winter CSA in a couple weeks. Here’s a pic of G helping D do some of the many dishes these delicious cooking adventures have produced:

IMG_1555

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

