Beef and Bok Choy Stir-fry

IMG_1400

I have a great cookbook that I use a lot called “Healthy in a Hurry.” It has tons of delicious, good-for-you meals that take under 45 minutes to prepare. I hadn’t used it in awhile but was poking through it looking for bok choy recipes. I found a recipe for Spicy Beef with Shrimp & Bok Choy and decided to give it a whirl.

I have never had much luck with stir-fries but took the advice of a commenter to my last stir-fry post and followed the recipe exactly. It definitely turned out better than previous stir-fries. I left out the shrimp but think it would have really added something. The stir-fry was still good, but next time, I would keep the shrimp in.

The recipe:

IMG_1394

1/4 c rice wine vinegar

1 1/2 TB fish sauce

2 tsp cornstarch

4 TB canola oil

3/4 lb sirloin steak, cut into slivers or chunks

1/4 tsp hot sauce

1 lb bok choy

Yield: 2 servings

TKT: 20 minutes

 

Combine the rice wine vinegar, fish sauce and cornstarch in a bowl and whisk together until cornstarch is completely dissolved.

Wash the bok choy fully, ensuring it is clean and dirt-free. Chop into 1-inch chunks.

IMG_1395

Heat 2 TB of canola oil in a wok or skillet. Add the beef and hot sauce. Cook, moving and turning continuously for 4-5 minutes or until cooked to desired doneness. Remove meat and juices and place on a place.

IMG_1398

Heat remaining 2 TB of canola oil in the wok and add the bok choy. Cook until wilted (2-3 minutes). Add vinegar mixture to wok and stir until bok choy is well coated. Return the beef and juices to the wok and heat together (1-2 minutes).

IMG_1399

Serve hot.

Suggested additions, substitutions and variations:

  1. As I mentioned, I’d leave the shrimp in next time.
  2. You could also make this with chicken or pork instead of beef.
  3. The original recipe called for crushed red pepper flakes, but I used hot sauce instead (because that’s what I had). I’m not sure that would make a huge difference, but perhaps.
One response to “Beef and Bok Choy Stir-fry

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

