Apple Cinnamon Bread

Sometimes, I just really want to bake. I’ll be minding my own business and then suddenly find myself overcome with the need to preheat the oven, get out the sugar, flour and vanilla extract and make something sweet and delicious. Last week I had one of those moments.

I decided to make apple bread. I had loads of apples and apple bread would be a great way to use them up and transform them into a new food. I found this recipe that sounded delicious. My only issue was that I didn’t have about half of the ingredients and Hurricane Sandy was raging outside. There was no chance I was heading to the store to get allspice and vegetable oil. I took a long, hard look in the pantry and decided I could make it work.

I ended up with more of an apple cake bread than an apple bread but it was still tasty. The topping was amazing. But then, how can you make a cinnamon sugar topping taste bad? The bread was pretty dense, probably because of the missing baking soda, but the flavor was really nice. G loved it, too. Before you ask, no, I didn’t give my 9-month-old the cinnamon sugar topping. Just some small tastes of the bread. He already has more energy than my husband and me combined. He doesn’t need any sugar.

My dogs loved this bread as well. We managed to enjoy half of it before I forgot to put it up on top of the fridge before leaving the house. The dogs didn’t leave a crumb in the pan and licked the plastic wrap covering clean. Apple Cinnamon Bread: A true family recipe.

The recipe:

 

1½ c flour
2 TB cinnamon
Salt to taste
1 TB fresh ginger, minced
2 eggs
¼ stick melted butter
¼ c cinnamon applesauce
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 c sugar
2 apples, peeled and chopped

Topping
2 tsp brown sugar
1 tsp sugar
1 tsp cinnamon

Yield: 1 loaf of bread

TKT: 1.5 hrs

Preheat oven to 350. Line a standard sized loaf pan with parchment paper, cutting off the excess paper.

In a bowl or mixer, beat eggs gently, until broken.

Add butter, applesauce, vanilla to eggs. Mix until blended. Add the sugar and mix until blended.

Turn mixer to low and add flour, cinnamon, ginger and salt. Mix until just blended.

Add chopped apples and stir in with a spatula.

Pour into loaf pan.

(G came to help me pour the batter into the loaf pan)

In a separate bowl, combine brown sugar, sugar and cinnamon for topping.

Sprinkle evenly over the batter in the loaf pan.

Bake for 60 minutes, or until a knife comes out clean. (Note: Because of the apples, there might be a little bit of moisture on the knife when you extract it. That’s ok. Just make sure there is no gooey, uncooked batter.)

Suggested additions, substitutions and variations:

  1. I would definitely try using oil and baking soda to see what the difference would be. You’d probably end up with a fluffier bread.
  2. The spices suggested in the original recipe sound nice. I bet cloves would be good with this.
  3. I used mild flavored apples because that’s what I had. I would also try this with some tart apples to contrast the sugary topping.
One response to “Apple Cinnamon Bread

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

