Update on Veggies Past

Here’s another update on some veggies past. I’ve finished off the spaghetti squash, the first bunch of tomatoes, the first set of collards, some of the butter beans, some beets and the eggplant. I used them either in some recipes I’ve already blogged or in some ways that were not thrilling enough to warrant their own blog post. So, here are the ways those veggies met their ends:

Spaghetti Squash

All in all, not my favorite. Maybe I’m missing something about the spaghetti squash but I found it pretty flavorless. I roasted the entire squash using olive oil and salt and then used it in a variety of dishes.

-The fritatta I wrote about last week.

-Spaghetti Squash Risotto: Make basic risotto and add the roasted spaghetti squash at the end. Top with Parmesan or Asiago cheese.

-Filo Stuffed with Spaghetti Squash, Collards, Cabbage and Ginger: I wrote about this recipe here. Saute the collards and cabbage in olive oil and ginger. When slightly wilted, add to filo. Add spaghetti squash and fold filo over and coat with egg wash or olive oil. Bake as directed.

Tomatoes

I used these babies in a couple recipes including a simple pasta dish that I throw together when I’m really hungry and need something quick. I like orzo a lot but any pasta works.

-Pasta with Tomato Chunks and Mascarpone: Cook the pasta. Chop the tomatoes into chunks. Drain the pasta and add it to a bowl with the tomatoes and enough mascarpone cheese to coat the pasta. Eat warm. Also nice with some dried oregano on top.

Butter Beans

In addition to using these in the butter bean and kale soup, I also made a stew for G (and ate some of it myself) using the beans. I got more butter beans this week so will have to think of some more uses for them. I like them in soups and stews so might do more of that. I’m also wondering how they’d be roasted.

-Chicken, Butter Bean and Sweet Potato Stew: Basic stew recipe that I used here but with the different ingredients.

Beets

I roasted all the beets and put them in water in the fridge to keep them moist. I figured it was worth just cooking them all since I couldn’t think of or find a recipe that called for raw beets or beets cooking in any other way. Aside from the Sweet Potato and Beet Hash, I also used the beets in a refreshing salad.

-Beet and Apple Salad: Add roasted beets, 1/2 a Granny Smith apple and pine nuts to a bed of lettuce. Top with olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

Eggplant

I was pretty bummed to only get one eggplant. I like eggplant a lot and after making this dish, I was wishing that I’d had another eggplant so that I could have this salad again.

-Grilled Eggplant and Garlic Salad: Roast the eggplant for 45 minutes, turning 3 times. Let cool. Peel and cut into chunks. Take out the big chunks of seeds (some seeds are fine). Put in a bowl. Top with olive oil, garlic, balsamic vinegar and pepper to taste. Let marinate for a few hours or overnight.

One response to “Update on Veggies Past

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

