Butter Bean and Kale Soup

This was one of the recipes provided by my CSA when I picked up my goodies this week. It sounded pretty tasty and was a Martha recipe, which are usually good, so I thought I’d try it. I’m pretty new to the whole bean thing. I didn’t realize I liked beans until the last year or two so now I’m tasked with trying to find out how to prepare them.

As usual, I made some adjustments to the original recipe. Most were pretty minor (baby carrots instead of big carrots, no red-pepper flakes) except one: I added a shot of lemon juice at the end. When I’d finished cooking the soup, it was missing a certain je ne sais quoi. I added lemon juice to a little bit of the soup and that did the trick. It gave the soup the little punch that it needed. It’s a creamy yet refreshing soup that’s pretty hardy and filling. A nice combo.

The recipe:

3 TB olive oil

1 onion, chopped

1 c baby carrots, chopped

Salt and pepper, to taste

1 TB dried thyme

4 cloves garlic, chopped

2 c fresh butter beans

6 c water

1 dried bay leaf

1 c (approx. 1/2 a bunch) kale, chopped

1/3 c lemon juice

Yield: 6 servings

TKT: 1 hour

Heat the oil in a deep saucepan or soup pot over medium heat. Add the onions and carrots and sauté until tender. Add garlic, thyme, salt and pepper and saute until fragrant (about 1 minute).

Add beans, water and bay leaf to soup pot. Bring to a boil then reduce and simmer for 45 minutes or until the beans are tender.

Let cool a bit and discard bay leaf. Using an immersion blender, blend the soup until creamy. Turn the heat back on to low under the soup and stir in kale. Simmer until kale is tender, about 10 minutes.

Turn off heat and stir in lemon juice. Serve hot.

Suggested additions, substitutions and variations:

  • You can use a regular blender if you don’t have an immersion blender. Though, if you don’t have an immersion blender, you really should consider getting one. It’s worth it.
  • I’m not terribly experienced with beans, but the original recipe calls for soaking the beans overnight, implying to me that you use dried beans. If you don’t have fresh beans, that would be an option.
  • You could use spinach or another dark, leafy green instead of kale.
  • Sautéing the kale in garlic and oil before adding it to the soup would add a nice flavor.
3 responses to “Butter Bean and Kale Soup

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

