Red Cabbage Slaw

The other night I wanted to make a slaw and was craving one of those fresh, crisp, crunchy slaws. I felt pretty comfortable with just tossing some oil and vinegar onto the cabbage and calling it slaw, but thought I’d check the proportions, just in case. I found this recipe and followed it (for the most part). I wasn’t making slaw for a small army, so I used about 1/8 the amount suggested. I served this along with some ginger-rubbed pork. It was delicious and hit the spot.

The recipe:

1 c red cabbage

1/2 c baby carrots

3 TB olive oil

1 TB balsamic vinegar

1 tsp sugar

Yield: 2 servings

TKT: 5 minutes

Cut cabbage and baby carrots into strips.

Mix olive oil, balsamic vinegar and sugar together in a small bow.

Pour over cabbage and carrot mixture.

Serve right away or let marinate overnight.

Suggested additions, substitutions and variations:

-Honestly, I got nothun’. This was perfect.

The Peaceful Mom

5 responses to “Red Cabbage Slaw

  1. Pingback: Sweet Potato Pancakes | The CSA Experiment·

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

