Frittata with Kale and Spaghetti Squash

I found this great recipe in a magazine for a Buckwheat Harvest Tart. It has a buckwheat flour tart shell made with apple cider vinegar. The filling contains butternut squash, Swiss chard and Gruyere cheese. It sounded delish. I tore it out and it moved from the coffee table to the dining room table to the kitchen and back to the dining room table and then back to the kitchen.

Then, this week, I decided that I would try the recipe. Since I didn’t have butternut squash and Swiss chard, I’d use spaghetti squash and kale. And since I didn’t have a tart shell and really didn’t feel like making one, I would just make a frittata. And since I didn’t have Gruyere cheese, I’d just use the Asiago blend that I had in the fridge. So, basically, I didn’t make the recipe at all.

My frittata came out well though. I tossed in some tomatoes for color, which both made it pretty and helped me move along through this week’s tomatoes. I used egg whites because that’s what I had. I also used more cheese than the recipe suggests because, really, can you ever have too much cheese?

The recipe:

1/2 bunch of smooth kale, washed and cut into slivers

1 c roasted spaghetti squash

1 c grape tomatoes, halved

1/2 yellow onion

1 clove garlic, minced

9 TB egg whites (equivalent to 3 eggs)

3 TB olive oil

2 TB balsamic vinegar

1 c shredded Asiago cheese blend

2 tsp ground nutmeg

Salt and pepper to taste

Yield: 4 servings

TKT: 45 minutes

Preheat oven to 350.

Heat 2TB oil in saute pan over medium heat. When hot, add minced garlic.

When garlic is fragrant, add kale. Cook kale until wilted (4-5 minutes).

Chop onions into slivers. Don’t dice.

Remove kale and put into large bowl.

Add remaining 1TB oil to saute pan and add onions. Turn heat to low. Cook onions until they begin to caramelize (5-6 minutes).

Turn off heat and add balsamic vinegar to onions. Stir to coat onions.

Add squash, tomatoes, egg whites, salt, pepper, nutmeg, cheese and onions to bowl with kale. Toss together gently to mix well.

Put kale mixture back into saute pan. Put pan in oven and bake for 30 minutes or until the frittata is coming away from the sides of the pan.

Serve hot.

Suggested additions, substitutions and variations:

  • This would be good with any dark, leafy green (Swiss chard, collards, spinach, etc).
  • You could use parmesan cheese or any other flavorful cheese with this dish.
  • This would be very good with butternut squash (as the original recipe called for). Spaghetti squash doesn’t have much flavor but provides a nice texture to the frittata. Butternut squash would add a nice flavor.
  • I definitely would recommend trying this in a tart shell.
3 responses to “Frittata with Kale and Spaghetti Squash

  1. Pingback: Update on Veggies Past | The CSA Experiment·

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

