Pork with Ginger Braised Collard Greens


I did it! I found a delicious way to prepare collard greens! I had some pork left from the Pork and Collard Stew recipe so I decided to try that again, but with some adjustments. I decided to take the Asian theme a little further and add the ginger. I also decided to use chicken broth to add some additional flavor. Both were successful. The ginger was a perfect pairing with the collards. Both have enough flavor to stand out against the other while, at the same time, taming each other’s flavor a bit. Braising in chicken broth also added a nice underlying flavor that the water in the previous recipe didn’t. I saved half of this for myself and have enjoyed it. I pureed the other half for G who couldn’t eat it fast enough.

Not gonna lie, I was pretty impressed with myself on this one.

The recipe:

6 collard greens

1 onion

2 inches ginger, peeled

1 lb pork roast

2 TB olive oil

2 c chicken broth

Salt and pepper, to taste

Soy sauce, to taste

Yield: 4 servings

TKT: 45 minutes

Heat oil in skillet

Cut collards into strips.

Dice onion and ginger.

When oil is hot, add onion and ginger. Sauté until onion is translucent (2-3 minutes).

Add collards, salt and pepper, sautéing until slightly wilted (2-3 minutes).

Add pork and broth.

Bring to a boil then reduce and simmer for 30 minutes.

Top with soy sauce, to taste, and serve hot.

Suggested additions, substitutions and variations:

-This would be good without the pork, served as a side dish if you drained the cooking liquid after the collards were done.

One response to “Pork with Ginger Braised Collard Greens

  1. Pingback: In This Week’s Bag | The CSA Experiment·

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

