Sweet Potato and Beet Hash

I got really excited when I found this recipe for Sweet Potato and Beet Hash. I love hash. When I say hash, I’m talking diner-style corned beef hash that is somehow equally crispy and mushy and tastes like a warm hug. Yes, guys, I love hash.

I saved the recipe, dashed to the fridge, whipped out the beets and sweet potatoes and started cooking. What I ended up with was not what I think of as hash. It was firm yet not crunchy and slightly exotic tasting. It was delicious, but you will not find it in your local diner.

When I thought about blogging the recipe, I tried to find another word then “hash” for the name of the dish. Is it a slaw? No. It doesn’t have dressing. Is it a medley? No. That is too vague. So, I Googled “what makes something a hash” and got this interesting article. Given the background of the dish, indeed, this is a hash. So, hash I shall call this mix of fall vegetables and sausage and spices. It is delicious, comforting, filling and definitely worth making – even if it’s not diner-style hash.

I’d like to also add, with a distinct note of maternal pride in my voice, that G ate this. I will admit, I was surprised. I wasn’t sure if he’d go for the beets and the cloves, but he did. I wont lie and say it was his favorite meal, but he ate the whole bowl. He wore a certain amount of it, but he also ingested all those fantastic nutrients into that beautiful baby belly. I was so very, very proud. (Side note for you moms out there: Beets stain like the dickens so they’re probably not the best I’m-learning-to-eat-with-my-hands food.)

The recipe:

2 sweet potatoes

1 medium-sized beet

4 collard greens

1/2 red onion

2 chicken sausage links

2 TB olive oil

1 TB butter

1/4 tsp cloves

Salt to taste

Yield: 4 servings

TKT: 1 hour

Preheat the oven to 375

Wrap the sweet potatoes and the beat in aluminum foil and place in the oven to roast for 30 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool.

When cool, peel potatoes and beets. Cut into small chunks.

Clean collard greens thoroughly and cut into strips.

Dice onion.

Add butter and olive oil to a skillet and heat.

When butter is melted and oil is hot, add onions. Sauté until onions are translucent (3-4 minutes).

Add chicken sausage, collards and cloves to onions. Sauté until collards are slightly wilted and chicken sausage is cooked (5-6minutes).

Add sweet potatoes and beets and toss together until well mixed. Salt to taste.

Serve hot.

Suggested additions, substitutions and variations:

-You can use bacon and bacon fat instead of chicken sausage and butter, as the original recipe suggests.

-You can use whatever meat you have in the fridge in this, really. It would be good with pork sausage, roast beef, chicken or pork.

-I used cloves, but this would also work with cumin or cardamom, I think. Nutmeg would be interesting and would definitely bring out the collards more than the cloves did.

-The collards are not necessary but it’s pretty to have something green. If you’re not going to use collards (or another dark, leafy green), I’d suggest adding some parsley or other fresh, green herb for color.

One response to “Sweet Potato and Beet Hash

  1. Pingback: Update on Veggies Past | The CSA Experiment·

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

