Update on Vegetables Past

produce

I realize that there have been a couple of vegetables from the past weeks’ bags that haven’t been mentioned yet. That’s because I didn’t do anything spectacular with them. However, in the sprit of bloggy full disclosure, here’s an update on vegetables of the past:

Acorn Squash

This is not one of my favorite veggies. I find that it smells tantalizing like pumpkin, but has no flavor when cooked. On the other hand, that quality makes it a filling addition to stews. It adds body without messing with the flavor. It also makes it a spectacular vehicle for maple syrup, brown sugar and/or butter. I suppose we need vegetables like that in this world. Everyone needs an excuse to eat spoonfuls of maple syrup. Perhaps we should thank acorn squash for throwing itself under the bus like that.

With the two acorn squash that I got in this bag, I:

  1. Baked one with maple syrup
  2. Chopped one up and added it to a chicken and lentil stew

G and I both enjoyed the acorn squash with maple syrup. I used Vermont maple syrup, which, despite what people from other maple syrup producing lands say, is the best maple syrup. That’s a fact. Ask any Vermonter.

We also both enjoyed the chicken and lentil stew. This was a stew of chicken breast, acorn squash, carrots, cabbage, onions and lentils all cooked together in chicken broth. It was warm, cozy and filling. I pureed half of it for G, who wolfed it down and saved the other, non-pureed half for myself, which I wolfed down.

Broccoli

Broccoli is one of my favs so it was gone pretty quickly. I used it in once recipe that I blogged but also tossed it in a couple of other ones. My only issue with heads of broccoli is the waste. I tend to use only the florets cause I find they taste better. Depending on the size of the head of broccoli, that means that I end up throwing out a huge portion of stem. So, when I picked the head of broccoli for the bag, I poked through the selection looking for one with a pretty small stem. I felt like I ate more of the head of broccoli than I discarded, which made me feel very eco-friendly.

Some other uses I employed for the broccoli:

  1. Steamed broccoli, cauliflower and cheddar puree
  2. Steamed broccoli, pasta and lemon juice
  3. Steamed and pureed for G

Steamed is my preferred cooking method for broccoli. It brings out the flavor without killing the crunch. It’s also good roasted, but, as I say, I always lean toward steamed broccoli in recipes. Add either some good cheddar cheese or a hit of lemon juice and you’re good to go.

I think that’s all that’s missing from previous bags. I’m in the middle of a recipe with apples that I’ll blog about tomorrow (it’s an overnighter) as well as one with sweet potatoes and beets. I haven’t tackled the spaghetti squash yet. I’m thinking of risotto at this point, but we’ll see what I end up doing.

Let me know if you are interested in the details of any of the recipes above. I’ll happily write them out for you.

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

