Broccoli, Tomato and Sausage Scramble

scramble

I’m not a big egg person, but sometimes they really hit the spot. I made this dish for brunch on Sunday. It was a great way to use up the remainder of last week’s veggies and start using this week’s. I also tossed in some sausage to add some spice. I can definitely see this as another go to recipe when I’m not sure what to make but need something fast.

I used egg whites in the recipe because that’s what I had. Somehow I never manage to have eggs in my fridge. I buy them but then they get old, expire and are tossed in the bin. Then, I forget to replace them. Somehow having egg whites in the fridge is easier for me. One of my many quirks, I suppose. Egg whites definitely make this dish healthier, but if you’re going to use egg whites, I recommend adding another protein source so that you’re not hungry again ten minutes after eating.

The recipe:

ingredients

2 cups broccoli, chopped into chunks

1 tomato, chopped into chunks

4 sausage links

2/3 cup egg whites (or 4 eggs)

4 TB goat cheese

Yield: 2 servings

TKT: 15 minutes

  1. Steam the broccoli until tender but not mushy (4-5 minutes).
  2. Heat eggs in skillet with tomatoes and sausage. Add broccoli when it is finished steaming and cook together (2-3 minutes).
  3. Add goat cheese.  Try to evenly distribute chunks of goat cheese throughout the skillet.
  4. Cook together, stirring frequently, until eggs are fully cooked, sausage is heated through, and cheese is melted (4-5 mins).
  5. Serve hot.

Suggested additions, substitutions and variations:

-You could make this into an omelet instead of scrambled eggs.

– You could use any kind of cheese you like in this dish but I recommend something that melts well and has some flavor. Goat cheese, cheddar cheese, or smoked mozzarella would all be good.

One response to “Broccoli, Tomato and Sausage Scramble

  1. Pingback: Update on Vegetables Past | The CSA Experiment·

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

