Sautéed Cabbage and Noodles

cabbage and noodlesMy CSA provides a few recipes for the week’s goodies that are available on print outs when you get your produce. This week, one of the recipes was Fried Cabbage and Egg Noodles. I had forgotten about it, but this is actually one of my favorite dishes. My father was Austrian and my Omi used to make this for us when we’d visit their house. It’s a tasty and filling dish that highlights the cabbage flavor.  It’s also a perfect blend of rich flavor and healthy foods.

The dish takes a total of 20 minutes to make so it’s quick and easy to throw together for lunch or dinner. It’s also only a two pot meal, which is exciting to anyone who doesn’t have minions to do their dishes. Leftovers reheat well – another plus for any dish, in my opinion.

tow pot dish

When G is older (and can have dairy and nuts), I will definitely be making this one for him. This will be good finger or fork food.

So, here’s my version of Sautéed Cabbage and Noodles. This recipe yields two servings.

The recipe:

ingredients

1 cup noodles

1/2 TB butter

1/4 medium head of green cabbage (cut into small chunks)

Salt (to taste)

Paprika (to taste)

1/4 c pine nuts

Yield: 2 servings

TKT 10 minutes

  1. Cook the pasta according to package directions. When the pasta is al dente (6-7 minutes), drain.
  2. Heat the butter and paprika in a skillet over medium heat.
  3. When butter is melted and paprika is fragrant, add the cabbage and salt.
  4. Sauté the cabbage until it is browned (5-6 minutes) stirring constantly to avoid burning.
  5. Add the drained pasta and pine nuts to the skillet with cabbage.
  6. Sauté ingredients together until pasta is slightly browned (2-3 minutes).
  7. Serve and top with a dash of paprika for color.

Suggested additions, substitutions and variations:

-I used rotini instead of egg noodles simply because that’s what I had on hand. I think the egg noodles would be yummy but would worry a little about them having the same consistency as the cooked cabbage. I like to have different textures in a dish.

-I also used paprika instead of pepper. I prefer the smoky taste of paprika and paprika is found in many German dishes. A note about paprika: it stains! Be sure to cover your clothes in case you get some on you and to wipe it off the counter promptly.

-I added pine nuts to the dish as well. I love pine nuts because of their smooth flavor. I think they complement the cabbage nicely. Walnuts would also be an interesting addition, I think.

Suggested additions, substitutions or variations? Leave a Reply

